Last Updated: May 23, 2016
- Ages of English Timeline
Interactive timeline explores the development of the English language from the Anglo-Saxon invasions to modern rap. British humor as well as audio to literary texts bring the language to life.
- British Library Online Gallery
Browse collection of primary source manuscripts and images or type search term, such as "restoration" or "elizabethan"
- Medieval Realms from British Library
- Victorian Resources from British Library
- The Victorian Web (Brown University)
Resource for courses in Victorian literature at Brown University, contains information about science, politics, gender, technology, economics, religion, philosophy, visual arts, and literature in the Victorian era.
- Romantic Circles
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture. It includes essays, audio podcasts, and electronic texts.
- Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley
Article and linked essays about the author of Frankenstein.
Get More Out of Google (HackCollege)
The entertaining and informative infographic supplies tips to "get more out of Google." Created by contributors of HackCollege (www.hackcollege.com).
Databases can be accessed at school or at home. The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.
- Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This is a collection of ebooks. Select topic of Literature and select from book series including Twayne's Authors Online, Scribner Writers Online, American Women Writers, concise Major 21st Century Writers, Nonfiction Classics for Students, and Shakespeare for Students.
- History Study Center
Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale Databases TEL)
Begin search by limiting results to person or name of literary work. On search results page, use tabs at top to sort by Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic Overviews, etc. The Multimedia Tab contains podcasts of interviews. Once you locate articles, refine your search by box on left with hyperlinks to topics to narrow results further.
Use to create citations and to organize notes.
- Salem History
E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Encyclopedia of American Immigration; Decades; Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Notorious Lives; Milestone Documents; and Musicians and Composers.
- Salem Literature
Biographic and Literary Analysis featured in the e-books Critical Insights: Authors; Critical Insights: Works; and Critical Surveys.
- World Book Encyclopedia, Advanced
Articles as well as primary source documents and e-books for fiction and non-fiction.
JSTOR provides scholarly journal articles. These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise.
- Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "Charles Dickens").
- Use AND to narrow your search results. Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results. Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
- Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
- When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.