Join famous philosophers, scientists, writers, and political figures as they engage in witty banter and discuss pressing issues of the Enlightenment Period or the Paris 1919 peace conference.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016
- World War I (Fordham University Sourcebook)
Path to War and Aftermath sections provide primary source documents for evaluating counties's involvement in World War I and reparations requested in the peace conferences.
- Age of Anxiety: New States of Eastern Europe (Fordham University)
For the countries of Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia, see links regarding formation of new governments.
- World War I Document Archive (Bringham Young University Library)
Use this link for Post-1918 documents. Maintained by the World War I Military History Discussion Group, the site includes conventions and treaties, official documents searchable by country, documents searchable by year, personal diaries, an image archive, links to other useful sites, and biographical information on key actors.
- World War I Posters (Library of Congress)
You can specify search to a particular country, such as France, or topic, such as Trench Warfare.
- Marcus Garvey: Advice of the Negro to Peace Conference (primary source)
Garvey speaks on colonial control of Africa and his demand for independence and true brotherhood of all races.
- Spartacus Educational: World War I Statistics
Statistics on Financial Costs of war and war casualties.
- Spartacus Educational: Versailles Treaty
Overview article includes names of countries that can also be searched.
Primary Sources: Skim to end of Versailles Treaty article to view diary accounts and memoirs by notable leaders in this peace conference.
- Sweet Search
SweetSearch webguides are developed by research experts and educators.
- Evaluating Web Pages (UC Berkeley Library)
If students use resources other than recommended library databases and websites, students will fill out web evaluation sheet to confirm that resources are valid and trustworthy resources.
(Paris Peace Conferece,1919, with President Woodrow Wilson on far right. Photo from Britannica Image Quest.)
Databases can be accessed at school or at home. See Database GoogleDoc username and password.
Use Advanced Search with the Gale Database to narrow results to a journal publication, such as History Today. The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
Call Number: 940.3141 MAC
Publication Date: 2003-09-09
Personalities, ideals, and prejudices of the men who shaped the Paris peace treaty following World War I.
History in Quotations
Call Number: REF 909 COH
Publication Date: 2004
Use index to locate quotes by Enlightenment figures as well as historical context of the quote.
Breaking the Heart of the World
Call Number: 973.91 COO
Publication Date: 2001-09-24
Explores Woodrow Wilson's battle to gain popular and political support for the United States' position in the League of Nations at the end of World War I.
World War I
Call Number: 940.3 PEN
Publication Date: 2001-10-26
Primary sources for World War I.
History of World War I: Victory and Defeat, 1917-1918
Call Number: REF 940.3 HIS
Discusses Germany's defeat, the peace terms, the war's legacy in Europe and the U.S., and its impact on India, China, and the Middle East.