This is the "Home" page of the "Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology   Tags: biology  

Use recommended databases and websites for Adv Biology and AP Biology research.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/biology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).

Databases for Science Research

Database Passwords GoogleDoc.

Use NoodleTools for APA source citations.

  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles and books. Begin search in Advanced Search. See librarian for login passwords.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • General Science Collection  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Salem Science
    E-books Biomes and Ecosystems; Environmental Issues; Forensic Science; Encyclopedia of Global Resources; Encyclopedia of Global Warming; Computer Technology Innovators; Internet Innovators.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Select e-book that matches your science field.
  • Britannica Image Quest
    Rights-cleared images. Use citation icon on image to select APA citation.
  • The Physics Teacher  
      
    Advanced: Search peer-reviewed journals for physics experiments and physics research. Begin by signing in (in top tool bar) in order to find full-text articles.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas including science and mathematics.

Websites for Scholarly Articles

 PubMed provides citations and links to full-text content for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.

 OSTI.gov provides free access to science journals and information from Department of Energy and global resources.

 

PLOS provides Open Access publishing of peer-reviewed journals.

 

TED Talk Video: Bring Back the Woolly Mammoth

 

Biology Books

Search Follett e-shelf for Biology books as well as the online catalog for print resources. Gale Virtual Reference Library and Salem Science also contains e-books on Science and Environmental issues.

Cover Art
DNA - James D. Watson; Andrew Berry
Call Number: 576.5 WAT
ISBN: 0375415467
Publication Date: 2003
The author, one of the scientists who discovered the structure of DNA, chronicles the history of genetic research, examines the light DNA has shone on human origins and genetic relationships, and discusses the impact DNA has had on business, medicine, and ethical debates.

Cover Art
Life on the Edge - Michael Gross
Call Number: 578.4 GRO
ISBN: 0738204455
Publication Date: 2001
Examines life forms that live in extreme environments that scientists had previously thought were uninhabitable, including the antarctic ice, hot springs, and on Mars.

Cover Art
Photosynthesis - David O. Hall; Krishna Rao
Call Number: 572 HAL
ISBN: 0521644976
Publication Date: 1999
Illustrations, color plates, and text help describe the process of photosynthesis and its roll in biochemical, biophysical, and genetic studies.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Elizabeth Geller; McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: REF 502 MCG
ISBN: 0079136656
Publication Date: 2002
Articles on science and engineering, including scientist biographies.

 

Google Scholar for Scholarly Journals

Increase results to full text articles by adding   filename: pdf   with your search terms.  Use quotations to create a bond phrase. Example:

biology and "invasive species" filename: pdf

Google Scholar

Science Videos on the Web

  • MIT Video Website
    MIT science presentations, editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more are featured.
  • TED.com
    Conference presentations that share innovation in all fields.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip