This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry   Tags: chemistry, chemistry experiments  

Recommended databases and resources for Advanced Chemistry and AP Chemistry students.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).

Databases for Science Research

Database Passwords GoogleDoc.

Use NoodleTools for APA source citations.

See Librarian for login passwords to databases.

  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles and books. Begin search in Advanced Search.
  • Expanded Academic (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Select e-book that matches your science field.
  • General Science Collection (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Salem Science
    E-books on environmental science, forensics, health, and applied science.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas including science and mathematics.
  • The Physics Teacher  
      
    Search peer-reviewed journals for physics experiments and physics research. Begin by signing in (in top tool bar) in order to find full-text articles.
  • Britannica Image Quest
    Rights-cleared images for science topics. Citation icon on image allows selection of APA citation.

Websites for Scholarly Articles

 PubMed provides citations and links to full-text content for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.

 OSTI.gov provides free access to science journals and information from Department of Energy and global resources.

 

PLOS provides Open Access publishing of peer-reviewed journals.

 

TED Talk Video: 3 Rules to Spark Learning in the Science Classroom

 

Chemistry Books

Search Follett e-shelf for Chemistry books as well as the online catalog for print resources. Gale Virtual Reference Library also provides science e-books.

Cover Art
Chemical Demonstrations - Bassam Z. Shakhashiri
Call Number: 540 SHA
ISBN: 0299088901
Publication Date: 1983
Provides detailed instructions and background information for using chemical demonstrations in the classroom

Cover Art
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics - David R. Lide
Call Number: REF 540 CRC
ISBN: 0849304830
Publication Date: 2002
Scientific reference data, including basic constants, units, and conversion factors; symbols and terminology.

Cover Art
Magick, Mayhem, and Mavericks: The Spirited History of Physical Chemistry - Cathy Cobb
Call Number: 541 COB
ISBN: 157392976X
Publication Date: 2002
Chronicles the history of physical chemistry, tracing the development of several scientific concepts and examining the people behind them, from the medieval days of "magick" to the modern study of nanotechnology.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Elizabeth Geller; McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: REF 502 MCG
ISBN: 0079136656
Publication Date: 2002
Articles on science and engineering, including scientist biographies.

 

Google Scholar for Scholarly Journals

Increase results to full text articles by adding   filename: pdf   with your search terms.  Use quotations to create a bond phrase. Example:

chemistry and "water filtration" filename: pdf

Google Scholar

Science Videos on the Web

  • MIT Video Website
    MIT science presentations, editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more are featured.
  • TED.com
    Conference presentations that share innovation in all fields.
  • Crash Course Chemistry Videos
    Crash Course Chemistry presents big ideas of chemistry in fun and engaging ways.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip