This is the "Home" page of the "Visual Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visual Arts   Tags: vandalism, visual arts  

Discuss the nature of art in light of art vandalism.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/content.php?pid=349189 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Databases and E-Books

Famous Artworks Vandalized

Guernica

Guernica, by Picasso, attacked by a vandal almost 40 years ago. 
(Photo of Picasso and Guernica from Image Quest.) 

Library Online Catalog

Recommended Art Websites

  • Art Project (powered by Google)
    Museums around the world have contribute art images to this digital project. Art images can be explored in close up views and images can be searched by collections, artists, artworks, or user galleries (which are grouped by theme, such as Mathematics and Art).
  • Google Cultural Institute
    Discover exhibits and collections from museums and archives all around the world. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail, from hidden gems to masterpieces.
  • J. Paul Getty Museum
    Explore the museum collection as well as background on artists and artworks. Videos on art techniques are also featured.
  • J. Paul Getty Museum on Pinterest
    Pinterest is an online pinboard. Explore images from the Getty Museum and add and organize your own art images.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art
    Search collections of the MOMA by artist, geographic location, or art medium.
  • Perseus Digital Library  
      
    Images of sculpture, architecture, vases, and coins of Ancient Greece and Rome. Search through the Greek and Roman Materials collection or use the Artifact Browser.
  • Smithsonian 3D Models
  • Smithsonian Museum
  • Web Gallery of Art
    This virtual art museum can be searched by keyword, artist, and time period, and contains over 29,000 reproductions of painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, and Romanticism periods.
 

Featured Library Books and Videos

Simon Schama's Power of Art
Call Number: AV 709.2 Sim
Publication Date: 2007
Historian Simon Schama discusses how artworks made an impact on the world. In the segment on Picasso, Schama discusses how the painting Guernica, an anti-war protest painting, faced ridicule and possible censorship from Nazis during WWII.

Cover Art
Lost Masters - Peter Harclerode; Brendan Pittaway
Call Number: 940.53 HAR
ISBN: 1566491657
Publication Date: 2000
Stories behind the looting of Europe's art treasures by Nazis, as well as the Soviet Union and Allies during WWII.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip