This is the "Reformation" page of the "Theology 10: Church History. " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theology 10: Church History.   Tags: christian faith, christians, church history, martyrs  

Investigate the history of the Catholic Church.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/content.php?pid=373388 Print Guide RSS Updates

Reformation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment: Reformation in Europe

"John Knox."  1890. From The National and Domestic History of England by Willam Aubrey. 1890. Design Pics Historical Colleciton. Britannica Image Quest. Web. 1 Mar 2014.

Library Databases and How to Cite Them

Database Passwords GoogleDoc. See librarian for username and password to access databases at home.  The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

  • History Study Center (ProQuest)  
      
    This Reformation article provides linked articles, such as "John Calvin," as well as related links in left column, such as articles, images, and documents.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Great Events from History; Great Lives from History will be of help in Church History research.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (TEL)  
      
    Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Select the Religion and Philosophy Collection to begin your search.
  • Britannica Image Quest  
      
    Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
  • NoodleTools
    Use to create citations and to organize notes.

Websites for Reformation in Europe Project

  • Reformation Europe (Internet Modern History Sourcebook)
    Fordham University
  • Martin Luther
    This overview of Martin Luther follows the PBS documentary, "Martin Luther."
  • New Advent.org
    The 1913 version of The Catholic Encyclopedia is searchable through this website. Students are encouraged to use the library's print version of The New Catholic Encyclopedia for the most updated articles.
  • Swiss Reformation (e-book by Bruce Gordon)
    GoogleBooks provides a preview of Swiss Reformation by Bruce Gordon. Page 29 and the Zwingli chapter (beginning on page 46) provide research on the Swiss Reformation.
  • SweetSearch
    SweetSearch webguides are developed by educators and experts.

    Search tip: reformation (name of country) (name of theologian)
 

Church History Encyclopedias and Dictionaries


New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF 282 NEW
ISBN: 0787640050
Publication Date: 2002
Begin your Church History research with an overview article from the New Catholic Encyclopedia. This reference book contains more updated articles than the newadvent.org website (which is a 1950s encyclopedia).

Cover Art
The HarperCollins Encyclopedia of Catholicism - Richard P. McBrien (Editor)
Call Number: REF 282 HAR
ISBN: 9780060653385
Publication Date: 1995

 

Books on Reformation

Cover Art
The European Renaissance and Reformation - Norman J. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: REF 940.2 WOR
ISBN: 0787617067
Publication Date: 2001

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation - Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
Call Number: REF 270.603 REF
ISBN: 0195064933
Publication Date: 1996-02-29

Cover Art
Renaissance and Reformation - Peggy Saari (Compiled by); Aaron Maurice Saari (Compiled by); Julie L. Carnagie (Editor)
Call Number: REF 940.2 REF
ISBN: 0787654736
Publication Date: 2002

Cover Art
The English Reformation - A. G. Dickens
Call Number: 274.2 DIC
ISBN: 0271007982
Publication Date: 1991

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip