Literary criticism on novels, dramas, and poetry as well as background information on authors and events of their times.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016
These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise.
- Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "carbon dioxide").
- Use AND to narrow your search results. Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results. Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
- Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
- When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.
If students use resources other than recommended library databases and websites, students will fill out web evaluation sheet to confirm that resources are valid and trustworthy resources.
Database Passwords GoogleDoc. The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
- Literature Resource Center (Gale Databases, TEL)
Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Literature Resource Center; or Expanded Academic ASAP.
- Salem Literature
Biographic and Literary Analysis featured in the e-books Critical Insights: Authors; Critical Insights: Works; and Critical Surveys.
Use to create citations and to organize notes.
- Salem History
E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Encyclopedia of American Immigration; Decades; Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Notorious Lives; Milestone Documents; and Musicians and Composers.
- Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.