This is the "Home" page of the "1920s Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

1920s Research   Tags: 1920s, gangsters, great gatsby, henry ford, jazz  

Investigate trends and issues of the 1920s as background to reading The Great Gatsby.
Last Updated: Apr 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/content.php?pid=444527 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Web Search Strategies and Video

Search Tips and Videos

These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise. 

  1. Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "jazz age").
  2. Use AND to narrow your search results.  Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results.  Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
  3. Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
  4. When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.

      
     

    Web Search Evaluation

    If students use resources other than recommended library databases and websites, students will fill out web evaluation sheet to confirm that resources are valid and trustworthy resources. 

    Library Databases and How to Cite Them

    (Ma Rainey singing in Chicago in the 1920s. Encyclopædia Britannica Image Quest. Web. 12 Mar 2013.)

    Databases can be accessed at school or at home.  The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

    View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.

    • Expanded Academic ASAP and General OneFile (Gale TEL databases)  
        
      Select Expanded Academic ASAP or General OneFile from list of databases and select ADVANCED SEARCH.
    • Salem Online: History  
        
      E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Encyclopedia of American Immigration; Decades; Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Notorious Lives; Milestone Documents; and Musicians and Composers.
    • NoodleTools
      Use to create citations and to organize notes.
    • Britannica Image Quest  
        
      Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
     

    Flappers, The Roaring Twenties

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip