This is the "Enlightenment and Philosophes" page of the "European History (Shaver and Lodoen)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

European History (Shaver and Lodoen)  

Explore the ideas and famous people who shaped events of European history.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/content.php?pid=632461 Print Guide RSS Updates

Enlightenment and Philosophes Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MLA Bibliography and Organization Grid Examples

Websites for Enlightenment Period Research

 

Web Search Evaluation

If students use resources other than recommended library databases and websites, students will fill out web evaluation sheet to confirm that resources are valid and trustworthy resources. 

Library Databases and How to Cite Them

(18th c. salon hosted by Marie-Thérèse de Geoffrin, ABC-CLIO World History, Modern database.)

Database Passwords GoogleDoc.

History Study Center and Salem History will be most helpful for research.  Use Advanced Search with the Gale Database to narrow results to a journal source, such as History Today.  The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

  • ABC-CLIO World History: Modern Era  
      
    History databases include 1) World at War; 2) World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras; and 3) World History: The Modern Era. In addition, a new database features cultural information--The Latino American Experience.
  • Britannica Image Quest  
      
    Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
  • Gale Databases (TEL)  
      
    Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection or Expanded Academic ASAP.
  • NoodleTools
    Use to create citations and to organize notes.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Great Events from History; Great Lives from History will be of help in Church History research.
  • History Study Center
 

Enlightenment Period Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment - Alan Charles Kors (Editor)
Call Number: REF 940.25 ENL
ISBN: 0195104315
Publication Date: 2002
Expansive research on The Enlightenment Period.

Cover Art
History in Quotations - M. J. Cohen; John Major; Simon Schama (Foreword by)
Call Number: REF 909 COH
ISBN: 0304353876
Publication Date: 2004
Use index to locate quotes by Enlightenment figures as well as historical context of the quote.

The Age of Monarchs - Clarice Swisher
Call Number: 940.2 AGE
ISBN: 0737707631
Publication Date: 2001
Use chapter 3 on "The Age of Reason and the Arts" for information about your Enlightenment figure.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip