Library databases with tips on citation as well as videos and infographics on advanced searching on the web.
Last Updated: Sep 28, 2016
Begin your search for scholarly journals with JSTOR. These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise.
- Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "carbon dioxide").
- Use AND to narrow your search results. Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results. Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
- Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
- When you find a helpful article, skim Abstract and and article subheadings for an overview. Also look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. The Bibliography may provide helpful articles; mine those resources for further exploration of related research.
Databases can be accessed at school or at home.
The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
Also see Citations tab for more examples.
View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.
Any databases marked TEL will use a single password login.
For advanced features and to access database at home, create a personal account while on campus.
ArtStor is a digital image library database featuring works from major collections in the fields of art, archeology, fashion and costume, world history, and political cartoons.
- Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
- Encicliopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Spanish language encyclopedia (K-4) which can be used for students learning Spanish as a foreign language.
- FollettShelf e-books
- Gale Databases (TEL)
Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection; Expanded Academic ASAP; Literature Resource Center; Health and Wellness; Professional Collection; or General Science Collection.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (TEL)
E-books in science and humanities, including Twayne and Scribner's literary articles.
Use keywords such as "human trafficking" in search box. To narrow or expand your search, use the related subject search links on left of search result screen.
- General Science Collection
- History Study Center (ProQuest)
Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
- Learning Express Library (TEL)
Test preparation for core subjects, AP courses, and ACT and SAT. Once on the main page, click on login and create a personal account to use this test preparation site.
- Lexis Nexis Scholastic (off campus access)
See librarian for barcode access.
- Lexis Nexis Scholastic (on campus access)
- Literature Resource Center (TEL)
Begin search by limiting results to person or name of literary work. On search results page, use tabs at top to sort by Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic Overviews, etc. The Multimedia Tab contains podcasts of interviews. Once you locate articles, refine your search by box on left with hyperlinks to topics to narrow results further.
Use to create citations and to organize notes.
- Opposing Viewpoints (TEL)
Search hot topics, current events, and social issues in this database designed to aid analyzing a broad range of materials. Featured are topic overviews, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistics/graphs, podcasts, and an image bank.
- Physics Teacher
Advanced: Search peer-reviewed journals for physics experiments and physics research. Begin by signing in (in top tool bar) in order to find full-text articles.
- Salem Online: Health
E-books on health topics include reference titles Magill's Medical Guide and Psychology and Mental Health.
- Salem Online: History
E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas: Encyclopedia of American Immigration; Decades; Great Events from History; Great Lives from History; Notorious Lives; Milestone Documents; and Musicians and Composers.
- Salem Online: Literature
Biographic and Literary Analysis featured in the e-books Critical Insights: Authors; Critical Insights: Works; and Critical Surveys.
- Salem Online: Science
E-books include Biomes and Ecosystems; Environmental Issues; Forensic Science; Encyclopedia of Global Resources; Encyclopedia of Global Warming; Computers
- The Tennessean (TEL through ProQuest)
- U. S. History Collection (TEL)
- War and Terrorism Collection (TEL)
- World at War (ABC-CLIO)
History database of global conflict.
- World Book Advanced (TEL)
In addition to overview articles, this resource provides a Teaching with Primary Documents section, E-books (both fiction and non-fiction), and U.S. Presidential papers.
- World Book Reference Center (TEL)
- World History Collection