From wildfires to floods, from oceanography to astronomy, and from earth systems to solar systems, explore the earth's sources of energy and humanity's role in protecting the planet.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016
Satelitte images of earth formations from NASA and LOC exhibit: Earth as Art 3: A Landsat Perspective. The image on the left depicts green Sitgreaves National Forest in Arizona, while the purple is the Arizona Painted Desert. Black dots denote ancient volcanic cones.
The satelitte sensor image, pictured below, depicts Sahara sand dunes of Algeria, Africa. (LOC exhibit images courtesy of United States Geological Survey/Earth Resources Observation and Science Center.)
Also see LOC photograph and environmental cartoons: Down to Earth exhibit.
Databases can be accessed at school or at home. The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.
Any databases marked TEL will use a single password login, elvis.
- Lexis Nexis Scholastic (on campus access)
Use this link to access Lexis Nexis at JP2 campus.
- Lexis Nexis Scholastic (off-campus access)
Use this link for off campus, remote access.
See librarian for barcode access.
- Salem Press: Science
E-books include Biomes and Ecosystems; Environmental Issues; Forensic Science; Encyclopedia of Global Resources; Encyclopedia of Global Warming; Computers
- Gale Databases (TEL)
Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as science journal articles in Expanded Academic ASAP or the General Science Collection.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (TEL)
E-books in science and humanities.
- Opposing Viewpoints (TEL)
Search hot topics, current events, and social issues in this database designed to aid analyzing a broad range of materials. Featured are topic overviews, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistics/graphs, podcasts, and an image bank.
Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
Database coming soon in July 2015.
ArtStor is a digital image library database featuring works from major collections in the fields of art, archeology, fashion and costume, world history, and political cartoons.
- Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).