This is the "Home" page of the "AP Environmental Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

AP Environmental Science   Tags: environment, environmental science  

Use databases and recommended websites for environmental science research.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/environmentalscience Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).

Databases for Science Research

See Database Password GoogleDoc.

Use NoodleTools for APA source citations.

  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles and books. Begin search in Advanced Search.
  • General Science Collection (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Salem Science
    E-books include Biomes and Ecosystems; Environmental Issues; Forensic Science; Encyclopedia of Global Resources; Encyclopedia of Global Warming; Computer Technology Innovators; Internet Innovators.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Select e-book that matches your science field.
  • Britannica Image Quest
    Rights-cleared images. Use citation icon on image to select APA citation.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas including science and mathematics.

Websites for Scholarly Articles

 PubMed provides citations and links to full-text content for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.

  OSTI.gov provides science journals and information from Department of Energy and global resources.

 

PLOS provides Open Access publishing of peer-reviewed journals.

 

PBS Video: Ken Burns and The Dust Bowl

 

Environmental Science Books

Search Follett e-shelf for e-books as well as the online catalog for print resources. Gale Virtual Reference Library  and Salem Science also contains e-books on Science and Environmental issues. See Librarian for passwords.

Cover Art
Biomass - Amanda De La Garza
Call Number: 333.95 BIO
ISBN: 0737735864
Publication Date: 2006
Thirteen essays introduce biomass energy, covering its history and how it works; present opposing viewpoints on biomass issues, such as its effect on the environment and whether it could eradicate hunger or lead to starvation; and discuss possibilities for the future.

Cover Art
Life on the Edge - Michael Gross
Call Number: 578.4 GRO
ISBN: 0738204455
Publication Date: 2001
Examines life forms that live in extreme environments that scientists had previously thought were uninhabitable, including the antarctic ice, hot springs, and on Mars.

Cover Art
Environmental Issues in American History - Chris J. Magoc
Call Number: 333.27 MAG
ISBN: 0313322082
Publication Date: 2006
Presents an examination of a wide range of issues related to the environment in American history, including the control of water in early industrial America, wildlife conservation, the causes and consequences of the Dust Bowl, and more.

Cover Art
Garbage Land - Elizabeth Royte
Call Number: 363.72 ROY
ISBN: 0316738263
Publication Date: 2005
Follows the journey of American trash from the garbage can to the dump, the recycling center, and elsewhere, speaking to experts on varied aspects of garbage--odor chemists, conservation scientists, CEOs, and others; examining the impact of consumption on the environment; and exploring options for change.

 

Google Scholar for Scholarly Journals

Increase results to full text articles by adding   filename: pdf   with your search terms.  Use quotations to create a bond phrase. Example:

"invasive species" and ponds filename: pdf

Google Scholar

Science Videos on the Web

  • MIT Video Website
    MIT science presentations, editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more are featured.
  • TED.com
    Conference presentations that share innovation in all fields.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip