Home
Home
Home
This is the "Grapes of Wrath" page of the "Eng 11 (Smith)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Use recommended resources to write a researched synthesis essay on contemporary American society.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/essays Print Guide RSS Updates

Grapes of Wrath Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Grapes of Wrath

                            . 

 John Steinbeck. Hulton Archive. Getty Images. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 26 Jul 2014. 

     

    The DREAM Act and Immigration

    Library Databases

    Databases can be accessed at school or at home. View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.

    View the article Overview: The Grapes of Wrath (Literature and Its Times)

    • Historical Context: Grapes of Wrath, Trouble in the Promised Land
      Rising class consciousness in America and the ecological disaster of The Dust Bowl add historic context to the novel, The Grapes of Wrath.
    • Salem Online: History  
        
      E-books featuring great events and biographies. Sample search
      The Great Depression
    • Gale Databases (TEL)  
        
      Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection; Expanded Academic ASAP; Literature Resource Center; or General Science Collection.

    Search Tips for Databases and Advanced Search in JSTOR

    These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise. 

    1. Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "carbon dioxide").
    2. Use AND to narrow your search results.  Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results.  Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
    3. Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
    4. Use an asterisk (*) for alternate word endings.  Child* will return results for child, children, childhood
    5. When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.

     JSTOR link

     

    Mexican Ladies Insulted by White People

     

    Children of the Fields

     

    Introducing the Dust Bowl

     

    John Steinbeck and The Grapes of Wrath

    Annotated MLA Bibliographies (OWL Purdue Online Writing Lab)

       

                          
    Resources for formatting MLA-style paper and citations.
                                                                                                                             Annotated MLA Bibliography.

        
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip