This is the "Home" page of the "Music History (O'Neill)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music History (O'Neill)   Tags: biographies, classical music, composers, music history  

Musical influences and lasting legacies of famous musicians.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/historyofmusic Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

MLA Bibliography for Music History Research

Websites for Famous Musicians Research


Library Databases and How to Cite Them

(Lombardi, Giovanni Domenico. Portrait of Giacomo Puccini. 1742. Britannica Image Quest. Web. 2 Feb. 2016. )

Databases can be accessed at school or at home. See Database GoogleDoc for passwords.   
Salem Online: History will be most helpful for research.  
The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas.
  • Music and Society in Europe (History Study Center)
    Use contents on left to browse biographies and journal articles.
  • Britannica Image Quest  
      
    Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
  • Gale Databases (TEL)  
      
    Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection or Expanded Academic ASAP.
  • NoodleTools
    Use to create citations and to organize notes.
 

Musician Recommended Books

Cover Art
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians - Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: REF 940.25 ENL
ISBN: 0028655710
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Expansive research on musicians.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance - Irwin Stambler; Lyndon Stambler
Call Number: REF 940.2 ENC
ISBN: 0684805146
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
Use index to locate famous musician or music topic, such as "Music in Italy."

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era - Chris Murray
Call Number: REF 700 ENC
ISBN: 1579584233
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Use index to locate biographical information on famous musicians.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip