This is the "Home" page of the "Famous Guitarists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Famous Guitarists   Tags: contemporary music, guitarists, popular music  

Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/musichistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Websites for Famous Guitarists Research

 

(Woody Guthrie. Photographer. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 2 Feb 2016.) 

 

Web Search Evaluation

If students use resources other than recommended library databases and websites, students will fill out web evaluation sheet to confirm that resources are valid and trustworthy resources. 

Library Databases and How to Cite Them

(Chet Akins, Britannica Image Quest database.)

Databases can be accessed at school or at home. See Database GoogleDoc for username and password to access databases at home.   


Salem History will be most helpful for research.  Limit search to Musician and Composer on the Salem History database.
The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.

  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas. For famous musicians, type the name in the EXACT PHRASE box and select the Musicians and Composers e-book from the drop-down box.
  • Britannica Image Quest  
      
    Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
  • Gale Databases (TEL)  
      
    Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection or Expanded Academic ASAP.
  • NoodleTools
    Use to create citations and to organize notes.
 

Musician Recommended Books

Cover Art
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians - Nicolas Slonimsky
Call Number: REF 940.25 ENL
ISBN: 0028655710
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Expansive research on musicians.

Cover Art
Folk and Blues - Irwin Stambler; Lyndon Stambler
Call Number: REF 909 COH
ISBN: 0312200579
Publication Date: 2001-05-22
Use index to locate famous folk and blues musicians.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Colin Larkin (Editor)
Call Number: 940.2 AGE
ISBN: 1561592374
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Use index to locate biographical information on famous musicians.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip