This is the "Home" page of the "Physics " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics   Tags: physics  

Databases and recommended websites for physics research.
Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/physics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Online Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).

Databases for Science Research

Use NoodleTools for APA source citations.

See Database Passwords GoogleDoc for passwords.

  • Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library  
      
    Example search: Select Science and then Experiment Central e-book to brainstorm science experiments.
  • General Science Collection (Gale)  
      
    Select Advanced Search to locate journals, magazines, and newspapers on various science topics.
  • The Physics Teacher  
      
    Advanced: Search peer-reviewed journals for physics experiments and physics research. Begin by signing in (in top tool bar) in order to find full-text articles.
  • JSTOR
    Scholarly articles and books. Begin search in Advanced Search.
  • Britannica Image Quest
    Rights-cleared images. Use citation icon on image to select APA citation.
  • Salem History  
      
    E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas including science and mathematics.

Websites for Scholarly Articles

 PubMed provides citations and links to full-text content for biomedical literature, life science journals, and online books.

 OSTI.gov provides free access to science journals and information from Department of Energy and global resources.

 

PLOS provides Open Access publishing of peer-reviewed journals.

      
     

    TED Talk Video. William Kamkwamba: How I Built a Windmill

     

    Physics Books

    Search the online catalog for print resources. Science of Everyday Things (e-book) contains physics topics.

    Cover Art
    McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Elizabeth Geller; McGraw-Hill Staff
    Call Number: REF 503 MCG
    ISBN: 0079136656
    Publication Date: 2002-04-01
    Contains articles that provide information about topics in the field of science and technology.

    Cover Art
    The Physics and Technology of Tennis - Howard Brody; Rod Cross; Crawford Lindsey; Ron Waite (Photographer)
    Call Number: 530 BRO
    ISBN: 0972275908
    Publication Date: 2004
    Presents a comprehensive study of the technology behind the sport of tennis and contains diagrams and graphs to give a visual understanding of the physics involved in such things as the flight and bounce of the ball.

    Cover Art
    The Physics of Musical Instruments - Neville H. Fletcher; Thomas D. Rossing
    Call Number: 784.19 FLE
    ISBN: 0387983740
    Publication Date: 1998
    Explains the physical dynamics of musical instruments' creation of sound, covering vibrating systems, sound waves, and string, wind, and percussion instruments.

     

    Google Scholar for Scholarly Journals

    Increase results to full text articles by adding   filename: pdf   with your search terms.  Use quotations to create a bond phrase. Example:

     "sound waves" and music filename: pdf

    Google Scholar

    Science Videos on the Web

    • MIT Video Website
      MIT science presentations, editorial videos, event recordings, academic content and more are featured.
    • TED.com
      Conference presentations that share innovation in all fields.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip