Explore the language, culture, and famous people of Spanish-speaking countries.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016
Begin your search for scholarly journals with JSTOR. These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise.
- Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "carbon dioxide").
- Use AND to narrow your search results. Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results. Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
- Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
- When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.
Type your search word(s) and then click on type of search (title, author, subject, keyword).
The little blue circle with the i on it provides information on citing the database using NoodleTools.
View passwords on Database Passwords GoogleDoc.
- Britannica Image Quest
Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Spanish language encyclopedia (K-4) which can be used for students learning Spanish as a foreign language.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Use keywords such as "human trafficking" in search box. To narrow or expand your search, use the related subject search links on left of search result screen.
- History Study Center (ProQuest)
- Informe Academico (Gale Databases --TEL)
Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers for Latin American countries, in both Spanish and Portuguese.
Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
- Literature Resource Center
Begin search by limiting results to person or name of literary work. On search results page, use tabs at top to sort by Literature Criticism, Biographies, Topic Overviews, etc. The Multimedia Tab contains podcasts of interviews. Once you locate articles, refine your search by box on left with hyperlinks to topics to narrow results further.
Use to create citations and to organize notes.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Search hot topics, current events, and social issues in this database designed to aid analyzing a broad range of materials. Featured topics include immigration and education.
- The Tennessean (Nashville newspaper through ProQuest)
Investigate current events and issues of the local hispanic community.
- PEW Research Report: Hispanics and Their Views of Identity
Nearly four decades after the United States government mandated the use of the terms “Hispanic” or “Latino” to categorize Americans who trace their roots to Spanish-speaking countries, a new nationwide survey of Hispanic adults finds that these terms still haven’t been fully embraced by Hispanics themselves. A majority (51%) say they most often identify themselves by their family’s country of origin; just 24% say they prefer a pan-ethnic label.
- Google Scholar
Successful searching on the web for scholarly articles begins with Google Scholar.
- Sweet Search
SweetSearch webguides are developed by research experts and educators.