Last Updated: Mar 14, 2016
Grigorevich, Vasili. Portrait Of Fyodor Dostoyevsky . Fine Art. Encyclopædia Britannica ImageQuest. Web. 14 May 2014.
Database Passwords GoogleDoc.
View the articles Fyodor Dostoevsky (Encyclopdia of Philosophy) and Lenin Leads the Russian Revolution (Salem History--username and password needed to view aritcle).
- Gale Databases (TEL)
Databases include scholarly journals, magazine articles, and newspapers. Begin by selecting a database that matches your search need, such as Religion and Philosophy Collection; Expanded Academic ASAP; Literature Resource Center; or General Science Collection.
- Opposing Viewpoints
Search hot topics, current events, and social issues in this database designed to aid analyzing a broad range of materials. Featured are topic overviews, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistics/graphs, podcasts, and an image bank.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Use keywords such as "russian revolution" in search box. To narrow or expand your search, use the related subject search links on left of search result screen.
- Salem History (Salem Press e-book database)
E-books featuring great events and biographies of famous (and infamous) individuals provide helpful resources for many subject areas.
These time-saving tips will make your database and online searching more efficient and precise.
- Use quotation marks to create a bound phrase (such as "carbon dioxide").
- Use AND to narrow your search results. Use OR to link synonyms or similar terms to expand search results. Use NOT to eliminate results that do not match your search need.
- Use INDEX in databases (if provided) to find related subjects or more precise wording to describe your subject.
- Use an asterisk (*) for alternate word endings. Child* will return results for child, children, childhood
- When you find a helpful article, look at the keywords describing the article and expand your search using those terms. Also, skim Bibliography to locate helpful articles and mine those resources for further exploration of related research.