USCCB Citation Tips
This is the "Databases and Websites" page of the "Theology 11 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Theology 11   Tags: homelessness, poverty, social justice, theology  

Research historical background, causes and effects, and Church stance on topics such as homelessness and poverty.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.jp2hs.org/theology11 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases and Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Recommended Websites

Google Scholar and Advanced Google Search

Begin your research with scholarly articles using Google Scholar and use Advanced Google to narrow searches by site (such as .edu or .gov) to browse authority websites. 

 

United States Churches

 Learn more about these historic United States Catholic Churches: Cathedral of the Incarnation (photo by Nheyob, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0, via Wikimedia Commons);
Sacred Heart Catholic Church, Galveston, Tx. and church after 1900 Galveston flood;
Chapel of the Holy Cross, Sedona, Arizona, which was designed by Marguerite Staude (Sacred Heart and Holy Cross photos from Britannica Image Quest)

         

Recommended Databases

View Database GoogleDoc for Passwords.


View Database Searching Strategies video (8 min.) for strategies on Boolean Searching and using Opposing Viewpoints Database and Expanded Academic Databases for research.

  • NoodleTools
  • JSTOR
    Advanced: Articles from scholarly journals which are at least 2 years old. Always begin by logging in to JSTOR so that you have a green search icon next to your resulting journal articles. To print, click on View pdf, and then go to file and print.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Search hot topics, current events, and social issues in this database designed to aid analyzing a broad range of materials. Featured are topic overviews, pro/con viewpoint essays, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistics/graphs, podcasts, and an image bank.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP
  • Religion and Philosophy
    Over 214 religious journals and magazines represent viewpoints on historic and contemporary issues regarding faith.
  • Salem Health
    Provides articles on health issues such as disabilities.
  • Salem History
    Biographies surrounding the lives of people who worked for social justice, such as Dorothy Day and Thomas Merton, as well as articles on great events and issues that have challenged and defined society.
  • LexisNexis (on campus access)
  • LexisNexis (off campus access)  
      
    Use Database GoogleDoc for access password.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip